November 2019 Special Board Meeting


November 19, 2019


     A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Newberry Electric Cooperative, Inc. was held at the Newberry Electric Cooperative, Inc. located in Newberry County, State of South Carolina on Tuesday, November 19, 2019.

     The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Chairman Johnnie Dickert, with the determination of a quorum present.

     The secretary reported that the following Board Members were present:

C. J. Bishop                             Doug Hipp                              John Nichols

     Blake Brigman                        Craig Kesler               

Johnnie Dickert                       William Lominick                                                      

     Also present were President and CEO G. Keith Avery, Chief Financial Officer Arthur Guy, Vice President of Member, Public & Government Relations Debra Shaw, Vice President of Human Resources Leann Hutto, Vice President of Engineering and Operations Nick Shealy, Operational Support Manager Stephanie Sullivan, and Executive Secretary Deirdre Murphy.  Trustees Leon Fulmer and Melanie Hawkins were absent.


    President and CEO Avery reviewed the 2020 Budget and Staff Strategic Plan for 2018-2020.  Mr. Guy, Mrs. Hutto, Mrs. Shaw, and Mr. Shealy along with Mrs. Sullivan, reviewed their respective departments information.  Chairman Dickert thanked the staff for their hard work on the budget. 

      Chairman Dickert stated that the Finance Committee is making a recommendation to accept the 2020 budget as presented with modifications.  A motion was made to accept the recommendation.  The motion was seconded and passed without opposition.

     Attorney Pope explained the Compliance Guide from ECSC and changes that needed to be made in the board policies.  He also explained amendments that need to be in the By Laws.  The amendments will be voted on by the membership at the Annual Meeting on April 8, 2020.

     After Attorney Pope explained the board policies, a motion was made to accept the policies as presented.  The motion was seconded and passed without opposition. 


           There being no further business and without objections, Chairman Johnnie L. Dickert adjourned the November 2019 Special Board Meeting at 5:45 p.m.