March 10, 2020


     A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Newberry Electric Cooperative, Inc. was held at the Newberry Electric Cooperative, Inc. located in Newberry County, State of South Carolina on Tuesday, March 10, 2020.

     The meeting was called to order at 6:33 p.m. by Chairman Johnnie Dickert, with the determination of a quorum present.

     The secretary reported that the following Board Members were present:

Blake Brigman                        Melanie Hawkins        William Lominick

     Johnnie Dickert                       Douglas Hipp              John Nichols  

Leon Fulmer                            Craig Kesler                           


     Also present were President and CEO G. Keith Avery, Vice President of Human Resources Leann Hutto, Attorney Thomas Pope, and Executive Secretary Deirdre Murphy.  Trustee C.J. Bishop was absent.

    President Avery requested that the meeting adjourn into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing legal matters.  A motion was made to adjourn into Executive Session.  The motion was seconded and passed without opposition.  Chairman Dickert adjourned into Executive Session.

   After President and CEO Avery updated the Trustees, a motion was made to reconvene into Regular Session.  The motion was seconded and passed without opposition.  Chairman Dickert reconvened the meeting into Regular Session.  There were no actions and no voting acted upon during the Executive Session.

   A motion was made to accept the recommendations presented during Executive Session for the Cook Lawsuit Settlement.  The motion was seconded and passed without opposition. 

   President Avery updated the trustees of the information presented at the State House today on the Santee Cooper case. 

   Leann Hutto discussed the Retirement Security Plan for employees. More information will be presented at a future board meeting.



             There being no further business and without objections, Chairman Johnnie L. Dickert adjourned the March Special Board Meeting at 7:45 p.m.