February 2020 Special Board Meeting


February 10, 2020


     A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Newberry Electric Cooperative, Inc. was held at the Newberry Electric Cooperative, Inc. located in Newberry County, State of South Carolina on Monday, February 10, 2020.

     The meeting was called to order at 6:32 p.m. by Chairman Johnnie Dickert, with the determination of a quorum present.

     The secretary reported that the following Board Members were present:

C. J. Bishop                             Leon Fulmer                            Craig Kesler

     Blake Brigman                        Melanie Hawkins                    William Lominick      

Johnnie Dickert                       Douglas Hipp                          John Nichols


     Also present were President and CEO G. Keith Avery, Chief Financial Officer Arthur Guy, Vice President of Member, Public & Government Relations Debra Shaw, Vice President of Human Resources Leann Hutto, Vice President of Engineering and Operations Nick Shealy, and Operational Support Manager Stephanie Sullivan.  Attorney Thomas Pope and Executive Secretary Deirdre Murphy were absent.

    President Avery reviewed in detail the financials for 2019, and the staff did a comparison of actual expenses for 2018 and 2019.

    President and CEO Avery compared the 2018 and 2019 final budgets to the 2020 budget.      Each staff member reviewed their respective departments information.  Each explained where cuts can be made to improve the 2020 budget.  No cuts will be made to reliability. 

    Chairman Dickert asked the trustees to review the information and consider approving the new budget along with credit card fees at the next board meeting.








             There being no further business and without objections, Chairman Johnnie L. Dickert adjourned the February Special Board Meeting at 8:27 p.m.